San Marino Girls’ Tennis Win D-1


Aayan Khan, Editor

“History is not was, it is,” William Faulkner once said. And history has been made by 13 remarkable girls, who brought our school its first D-1 CIF Championship in tennis, among both boys and girls. Here are the members of the championship winning team: ​​Camdyn Wu (captain) 12, Elaine Wu (captain), 12, Isabelle Kang, 11, Valerie Kuo, 11, Katie Lui, 11, Selina Wu, 11, Olivia Center, 10, Mandy Rivera, 10, Selene Yung, 10, Giselle Gandakusuma, 9, Emelia Lin, 9, Tianmei Wang, 9, and Carina (Ruiyi) Yang, 9. However, this extraordinary feat hasn’t been just handed to the Titans, but through hard work, grit, and determination have they achieved this award. Let’s go back to the road that brought us to this proud moment.

The team started off their season with three non-league games with Claremont, Peninsula, and Arcadia, dropping a loss only to Arcadia, finishing 2-1 before the start of league play. Though the girls took over the Rio Hondo League with their performance on the court, their hard work off the court is what defined their winning season this year. 

After qualifying for the CIF Southern Section Division 1 Playoff, the Titans faced Calabasas, defeating them 16-2, then taking down Aliso Niguel in a close game 10-8. In the semi-final, the girls played Huntington Beach, tying with them at 9 all, but moving on to the final due to games won in the match itself. Finally, in the final of the playoffs, the Titans played division foes, La Cañada, winning 10-8. The historic moment was followed by celebrations and cheers from the Titan girls, and the proud feeling from all, knowing that their season-long goal was accomplished.